Welcome!

“You have too many games. You need to reconsider what games you want to play.”

A few days after the new year, I created a list of all the games I have that I still haven’t finished. 

I was motivated by all my friends making these ridiculous New Year’s resolutions. I don’t believe in resolutions. People who make them rarely stick to them for more than a month. (Honestly, I think it’s more like a week.) I believe in making concrete plans with concrete goals. The problem I run into most often isn’t follow-through. It’s coming up with a good plan in the first place. Whatever I do has to be doable. In other words, it has to be something that I can and want to do and it has to be done in a way that I’m willing to do. Picky and unrealistic? Maybe. But hey, this is MY life and the only one who controls that is ME.

In addition to my love of video games (mostly JRPGs), I have a LOT of other obsessions:

  • Anime
  • Manga
  • Star Trek
  • Japanese Pop Music
  • Taking MOOCs (Massively Open Online Courses)
  • Comic Books
  • Travel
  • Tuxedo Sam
  • MMORPGs (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games)
  • James Bond
  • Cooking
  • Japan
  • Reading
  • Nail Art
  • Final Fantasy (I’m a fangirl about this enough to give it its own category)
  • Plushies
  • Music
  • Movies
  • Dining Out

It sounds like I’m just rattling off a long list of hobbies, but when I consider the amount of money and/or time that (my husband and) I spend on this stuff every month, these are definitely more than just hobbies. As I’m typing this post, I’m watching video lectures on Coursera for a class called “The Science of Gastronomy” taught by professors at the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. The lecture is talking about how cooking and preparation of food alters the cellular structure of the food molecules which in turn affects its consistency.  Neat stuff! Seriously, science makes EVERYTHING better.

On top of all that, I work full time as an office manager type person, doing accounting clerk stuff, payroll, and some HR. My only child is starting his sophomore year of college next month on the other side of the country and I’m still struggling to pay off the mountain of student loan debt that I amassed trying unsuccessfully to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. (I wasn’t unsuccessful in finishing college. I have a B.A. in Psychology, a B.A. in Japanese Language and Literature, and a Minor in Business Administration. I was just unsuccessful in figuring out what I want to do with my life.) So I’ve got “normal people” problems, too, along with my incredible backlog of games, anime, and books to finish.

I thought it might be fun to chronicle my attempt to get through my backlog of games along with all the other crazy things I do. Along the way, I’ll probably review things and places. Or maybe I’ll make comparisons between my fantasy worlds and my real one. Whatever I end up doing here, I hope you enjoy it!

PS – Thank you to my awesome husband for coming up with the blog name, “Mom Drives a Chocobo.”

Leave a Reply

