Nothing to Prove – Geek Girls & The Doubleclicks

This video is pretty great. I don’t know how many times I’ve had to “prove” my geekiness or nerdiness. Here’s a good example: I was working in a bakery and two guys were talking about Star Trek. They had their technology mixed up, so I corrected them. After the look of shock and disbelief while asking me if I REALLY watched Star Trek came the quiz about it to make sure that I actually knew what I was talking about. Really?

Here’s another good one: I was working as an Assistant Store Manager in a video game store and a customer came up and asked me if there was a guy he could talk to. This happened ALL THE TIME. I will admit that it was very satisfying when I would call over a male employee and when asked, “Hey, have you played this game?” he would answer, “No, not yet. But she has,” while pointing at me.

I play WAY more games than my husband. My son has me beat, though. He has more free time than I do. We all love what we love. I shouldn’t have to prove my love for games, comics, nail art, or whatever. Neither should you. And as Wil Wheaton’s sign in the video says, “Don’t be a dick.”

One thought on “Nothing to Prove – Geek Girls & The Doubleclicks

  1. The world sure is changing. Women step up and explore careers and hobbies previously exclusive to men, and the discrimination just gets worst and worst. Personally, I’d like to never be quizzed again about video games or comics. But it just wont stop.

Leave a Reply

