Retail Therapy – 8/26/13

On Monday, I was having a really horrible day. I woke up on the wrong side of the bed. One of my bosses misspelled my name when she e-mailed me and she’s been working for the company I’m at for OVER A YEAR. I had this incredible backlog of work to do and people were bombarding me with requests. The aforementioned boss asked me to see if I could download a tax report from our payroll company’s website even though she had already talked to the payroll company, making me do extra work for NOTHING when I was already busy. I had spent most of the weekend trying to play Final Fantasy XIV and running into server issues. People were driving like morons.

You get the idea. Every little thing was raising my blood pressure and sending me spiraling into a fiery rage. I’ve always had somewhat of a temper, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to roll with things and take them in stride. After all, there’s no sense in getting all worked up over things that I have no control over. However, sometimes I just can’t seem to be mellow. It’s like my younger self resurfaces and takes over like a body snatcher or something.

So on my lunch break, I splurged on a spicy ahi bowl and then visited Hakubundo. Hakubundo sells products imported from Japan as well as Japanese language textbooks. They’ve got stationery, manga, toys, books, magazine, cellphone accessories… It’s a very dangerous place for my wallet. On this particular visit, I bought toys:

IMG_20130827_211829

I bought one each of the Kamen Rider Tokusatsu Heroes.

IMG_20130827_212228

This is Kamen Rider Fourze Fire States.

IMG_20130827_212128

And this is Kamen Rider Saga.

IMG_20130827_211750

I also got a Dragon Quest Momon cellphone strap. Like the Kamen Rider figures, this was in a package that could have one of many different monsters from the Dragon Quest series of games. I LOVE Dragon Quest. I really want them to bring DQX to the West…

IMG_20130827_211657

It was a chibi day, apparently. So here’s a chibi Cloud from Final Fantasy VII. You can even switch out his head and put him on that bad ass motorcycle he rides.

IMG_20130827_211636

And you can’t have Cloud without Sephiroth. There were seven other figures and I was tempted to buy them all, but they were $35 apiece, so I settled for these two. I almost bought Squall from Final Fantasy VIII even though he’s one of the most annoying characters in the earlier Final Fantasy games simply because he came with a Cactuar doll. But then if I bought him, I’d feel compelled to buy the rest of them.

So some women buy clothes and eat iced cream when they’re upset. Me? I buy action figures and import toys. I wonder who spends more money… At least I don’t gain weight!

Leave a Reply

