My Plans for the Long Weekend

Monday is Labor Day, so I don’t have to go into the office. WOOT! It looks like the weekend is going to be busy, though. I don’t mind when it’s stuff that I WANT to do and I almost never do non-ME stuff on the weekends.

Of course, I’m going to try and play Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn as much as I can. However, with all the server issues and the fact that both my son’s AND my husband’s accounts are locked so they can’t play, I’m not sure how much time I’m really going to be spending in Eorzea. Why are they locked, you ask? Well, both of them were playing with Early Access/Open Beta accounts. Once you get your product key, you simply have to apply that code to your account, and voila, you can play the game. Well, my son doesn’t have his key yet because the game hasn’t arrived in my mailbox yet. I bought the physical collector’s edition on PC through the Square Enix store and they sent me a shipping confirmation e-mail on August 20th. It is now the 30th and it hasn’t gotten here yet. When I track the package through the US Postal Service’s website, it shows that it left the west coast, but it doesn’t make any mention of whether or not it has arrived in Hawaii. So no code for him. Now for my husband’s account, that’s another story altogether. He ordered his digital CE for PC, so he was able to get his key e-mailed to him. Great! Well, when he went into Account Management (now called the Mog Station for some stupid reason), there was a button to click for “Add Service” or something like that. So that’s what he did. And instead of applying the code to his existing account, where he already had a character, along with his preorder bonus items, it CREATED A NEW ACCOUNT. Apparently, you have to click this little purple button with a quest icon on it and no words. Yeah, that makes a lot of sense. So he had to submit a ticket so get this problem fixed. This is a widespread problem. There are several threads on the official forums about this. Here’s one. Also, there’s a form to fill out SPECIFICALLY FOR THIS PROBLEM. Shouldn’t that be an indication to Square Enix that they need to, oh I don’t know, CHANGE SOMETHING?!

So, if I’m not going to be playing much Final Fantasy, I have a LOT of other things to do. For instance, I’m a bit behind on some of my MOOCs. I’ve been focusing most of my time on FF and putting off watching the lectures and doing the homework. I’ve got my work cut out for me since I’m taking quite a few classes. There’s an exam for Introductory Human Physiology that covers the first three weeks of lectures, but I’m still only watching Week 2’s stuff, for example. I’m enrolled in 5 other classes and I’m about a week behind in most of them. Hooray for long weekends!

I’m also planning on going to the 31st Annual Okinawan Festival. Good food, entertainment, and culture will abound! I love eating andadog. It’s like a corn dog, but the batter it’s deep fried in is andagi batter. People often refer to andagi as an Okinawan doughnut or doughnut hole. Whatever you want to call it, it’s sweet, fattening, and delicious.

Then on Monday night, my husband and I are taking a friend of my parents out to dinner because she lives in the city we’re thinking of moving to. We want to pick her brain about it and get some advice for where we should stay when we fly up to visit later this year. I’m probably the most excited about this over anything else during the weekend. Planning to move across the Pacific Ocean to the mainland is like a grand adventure for me. Since I had my son when I was just shy of 20, I never really got to do that whole adventure thing that so many young adults do during and right after college. Now that my son is in college, it’s MY turn and I can’t wait! So getting real information about it is making it feel like I’m getting closer and closer to making it a reality. You may be wondering why the hell someone would move from Hawaii to the mainland, so maybe I’ll cover that in a future series of posts. It’s far too complex to talk about here.

I also need to go shopping for a new suitcase and some Aloha shirts for my husband, so we’ll probably hit the mall this weekend as well.

Lots of stuff going on this weekend. I’m going to need a weekend for my weekend! 😉

Leave a Reply

