Blogging Awards

The last time I tried to write a blog, I don’t remember these being very prevalent. It could be because I was using the Blogger platform instead of WordPress. I have no idea. All I know is that in the last two or three days, I’ve received a crash course in what a blogging award is. (Note: I’m calling it a blogging award, but it isn’t the type where there’s a panel or vote or anything.) The idea is pretty simple and quite genius. Someone nominates you for the award in a blog post. Then you make a similar post where you acknowledge and thank the person who nominated you, talk about yourself or something, and then nominate and notify a certain number of other blogs. It’s kind of like a chain letter, except for the fact that it’s pretty awesome. 🙂 I’m pretty sure that the intended result is to increase traffic for your own blog and to help other people’s blogs increase their traffic, as well. While I do feel that the word “award” is a rather inaccurate nomenclature, I do think that the purpose is pretty great.

I published my first post here just over a month ago and through the use of tags and categories, I’ve discovered a lot of interesting blogs and people. And other people have also discovered me. So over the weekend, I received notifications from two different blogs that they nominated me for two different awards. I’ll be straight with you and say that this REALLY made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It feels really good to know that people are reading my stuff. When I decided to start this blog, it was more for me than anyone else. I didn’t really think too much about whether other people would even care about the stuff that I’m crazy about. So whenever someone likes one of my posts, I always go and check out their stuff, too. I’ve found some great blogs, many of which I’ve chosen to follow.

I am an extremely shy person. And the internet is even more terrifying to me when it comes to human interaction than real life because on the internet, I don’t have access to visual and body language cues or that vibe or feeling you get when you’re in the same vicinity as another human being. So right after feeling really great about people nominating me for these awards, I completely panicked:

Do I have to participate?

How am I going to come up with enough nominations for both awards? I’ve only been writing this blog for a month.

I have to talk about and to other people! I don’t know if I can do that!

Will they get mad at me if I say the wrong thing?

If I break the chain, will people stop reading my stuff?

It looks like some of the people I would nominate are already nominated by someone else. Can I still nominate them?

You get the idea. As you can see, I am plagued by social anxiety. (I’m also very egocentric! LOL) When I comment on blogs or post in forums, I often unsubscribe from the thread because I’m terrified that people will respond with extreme negativity. In person, I am capable of standing up for myself and not taking any shit, but for some reason, online is a completely different story. So I want to participate, but I’m not entirely comfortable doing so. So this post is my own personal answer to the nominations. Maybe I’m over-thinking this, but when it comes to interaction with other people, I just can’t help it.

I’m pretty sure this breaks the rules and I apologize for that, but if you know me, you know that I’m not exactly the type to follow the rules, anyway. I could have chosen to simply not participate, but then I wouldn’t be able to express the fact that I really am grateful that these people thought of me. That really makes me feel good and I had to acknowledge that. Not participating would be, in my own opinion, extremely rude. When someone does or says something nice to you, it is only right and appropriate that you respond in kind with gratitude. And I am extremely grateful.

So, I want to thank Beer & Joysticks for nominating me for the One Lovely Blog Award. They blog about video games and beer. Not crappy mass produced beer, mind you. REAL beer. I keep meaning to go to the liquor store and see if I can find any of the beers they’ve reviewed so I can try them out. I LOVE good beer.

I also want to thank After Dark Gaming for nominating me for the WordPress Family Award. This blog is another great place to read about video games. I love reading stuff by people who are excited by the same stuff that excites me. It took many years for me to find other people who had the same interests as I do.

I am hoping that over time, I will become accustomed to these kinds of electronic social interactions. I certainly wouldn’t blame you for laughing at me for being neurotic. 😉 Part of my personal reasons for starting this blog was to force myself to be more comfortable interacting with others in the digital sphere. My in-person social skills are very good, but my digital ones are sorely lacking. One of my closest friends is completely opposite. Online interaction? No problem. In person? He avoids it like the plague. The main difference between the two of us is that he’s okay with the way he is. I want to improve. So here’s my baby step.

And if you’re reading this post, that means I finally got the nerve to click “Publish.”

Leave a Reply

