“Welcome to TOKYO” – World Order

Tokyo is hosting the 2020 Olympics and this video celebrates that. I can’t help but draw parallels between Tokyo’s hosting of the 1964 games and their hosting of the 2020 games. The 1964 Olympics gave Tokyo the opportunity to show that it had recovered for the horrors of World War II and was now a modern, economic powerhouse. The 2020 games will likely be another opportunity for Japan to show its ability to overcome hardships, this time from the natural disasters which hurt the country so badly in 2011.

I love Japan. Watching this video reminded me of the times that I’ve visited Tokyo and now I really want to visit again. I’m turning 40 next year and I was seriously considering giving myself a trip to Japan for my birthday, but this would delay our move to the mainland, which is (in my opinion) far more important than my birthday.

I love Genki Sudo and World Order. The first video I ever saw of theirs was “MACHINE CIVILIZATION” (below), which was released in response to the earthquake and tsunami in March 2011. I completely fell in love with them at that point. The bizarre dancing in random places and the fact that they all look like salarymen was irresistible to me. Genki Sudo is a retired MMA (Mixed Martial Arts) fighter, apparently. He formed World Order after he retired from fighting in 2006.

Leave a Reply

