“Touching is Good”

(This post is NOT about games, but it’s important, so you should read it.)

Remember that Nintendo slogan for the DS back when it was released in 2004? My son was 10 years old at the time and completely oblivious to the possible sexual innuendo associated with it, so like most elementary school kids, he would repeat the slogan when talking about the new handheld that was coming out. One of my best friends, Dustin, always responded in kind. To this day, Dustin and my son continue to remind each other that touching is good.

Now I want to remind YOU that touching is good.

Dustin was very recently diagnosed with testicular cancer. And how did he find out? Touching. Just like women need to regularly “check their girls” and do breast self-examinations, it’s really important for men to regularly “check their boys” and do self-examinations of their testicles. Testicular cancer is more likely to strike a younger man than an older man, believe it or not, so don’t think that because you’re young, you’re immune.

I didn’t have a maid-of-honor at my wedding because Dustin was my man-of-honor instead. Outside of my family, he’s one of the most important people to me. I’m really thankful that he caught it early and that he’s cancer free now. If you’re interested in more details about testicular cancer, you can read his blog post about it here. Also, you can visit his Movember page and there are links on the site under “Men’s Health” with more information on prostate and testicular cancer. (Consider donating, too! I’m going to after I get paid on Friday…)

This year was the first year I had a mammogram and a pelvic ultrasound because breast cancer runs in my family and my paternal grandmother had cervical cancer. The thing about cancer is that the sooner it’s discovered, the higher your chances for survival. So take control of your health and check your boys and girls on a regular basis.

Remember, touching is good.

Leave a Reply

