Weird Dreams

I have notoriously weird dreams. I know, I know. Everyone has weird dreams. But whenever I share mine, people always marvel at how weird mine really are:

I started out in a large house with a bunch of people. I couldn’t see their faces, so I’m not sure who I was with. There was a raging thunderstorm going on outside. It was the kind of storm that when it happens in a movie, you know things are going to be VERY VERY BAD. It seemed like there was no power, but we were all huddled around a television set, staring at an image of two people on a roof. They looked like silhouettes instead of actual people. Like two dimensional characters painted all in black. They were fighting something that I couldn’t make out and there was military all around them. Helicopters, men with guns, searchlights… I had no idea what was going on, but we all knew that if either of them fell off the roof, that spelled disaster. I had the impression that it would signal the end of the world, but I don’t know why. That’s why we were so intently watching. One of the two silhouettes fell down from the roof. Suddenly, I was also on the roof in the pouring rain and Doctor McCoy (from Star Trek – the DeForest Kelley one) was with me. He was wearing armor that was a very shiny cross between the Power Armor in Fallout 4 and the contraptions the Big Daddies from Bioshock are wearing. He was trying to get down to where the fallen silhouette was and the military was trying to stop him, telling him that it was too dangerous. We went down anyway. I had to guide him down a flight of stairs because the armor was so unwieldy. I was not in armor. Suddenly, I was in a room and an acquaintance of mine from college was on an examination table in front of me. I was using a defibrillator to try and revive him. I was briefly successful and he looked at me and smiled. Then he died and I started sobbing, saying that I would miss the weird shit he always posted on Facebook. (English isn’t his first language, so sometimes he posts stuff and I have no idea what he’s trying to say.)

At that point, I woke up.

Last Night’s Twitch Stream:

I had every intention of playing The Talos Principle, but I ended up spending all 3 hours in Final Fantasy XIV. Since weekly caps reset, I did Expert Roulette and Level 60 Roulette. I got the arboretum for Expert AGAIN. I end up shouting something along the lines of, “MOTHERFUCKER!” every time I get that dungeon now because I don’t EVEN REMEMBER the last time I got Pharos Sirius HM. For Level 60, we got Neverreap, which we always call AlwaysCreep. High level roulette in FFXIV is really pissing me off. We need more choices. Two dungeons each does NOT equate to a roulette. I’m getting really sick of them.

Happily, Rowena’s House of Splendors was finally accepting Noble Gold for red scrips, so I was able to turn those in. I was 6 scrips shy of capping, though, so I had to make 6 collectible Birch Syrups.

After that, my niece wanted to work on leveling her Dark Knight. She was 46, but hates Dzamael Darkhold and Aurum Vale. (Me, too!) So we FATE farmed in Northern Thanalan. I went on my Monk, but was considerably underleveled, so I spent most of my time chasing after mobs. Reminded me of how much I hate doing FATEs as a melee.

After my niece went to bed, I made a piece of crafting gear for a friend and melded some materia for her.

So exciting, I know. But I had fun talking to one of my viewers about the state of FFXIV. I am very laid back and very casual when it comes to MMO playing, so I’m totally happy with where the game is right now. There are still things I want to accomplish, so I’m not bored. Sure, there are things that piss me off. (See above re: roulette, for example.) Overall, however, I am enjoying myself. The game isn’t going anywhere and neither am I. People who are more hardcore are frustrated. I understand that. I really do. I just can’t relate. I come from a time when we used to have to wait for over a year for another game or new content for an existing one. We had to grind things for months and months and months to accomplish one small goal. We had to buy or print out graph paper and draw maps. Those were the days. They were great. 🙂

But would I want to go back to that? HELL, NO. I’m spoiled now with in game maps and not worrying about where I died. Anyone else remember frantically typing /loc when you knew you were going to die so you didn’t have to pay a Necromancer or Shadow Knight to find your corpse for you in EverQuest? XD I’m spoiled with new games coming out pretty much every week. But they’re just games and I play them because I enjoy them. When a game genuinely upsets me, that’s a sign that I shouldn’t be playing it. To each their own, though. My gaming personality is my own.

Things of note in video game news today:

Feminist Frequency released their 2015 annual report. I am a feminist and I love that there are organizations like this and others out there working to address issues. I may not agree with everything that everyone says. (I am absolutely NOT a yes-(wo)man.) However, I appreciate that people are pushing to have the discussion. One of my husband’s friends once said to me that women’s rights weren’t really an issue anymore. If we weren’t out to dinner celebrating another friend’s graduation, I’m pretty sure I’d have gone into great detail about what I thought about that statement. After all, I’ve had stuff like this happen in my Twitch chat:

As long as I still see shit like this, I’m going to stand firm in my belief that women’s rights are absolutely still an issue. Harassment is not okay. I don’t deserve to be treated this way. NO ONE does. Period. At the time, this REALLY unsettled me. I thought I had prepared myself for this kind of thing happening. The minute I created my Twitch channel, intellectually I KNEW that this could and WOULD happen. But the first time it did, my heart was pounding, my voice started shaking, and I wondered what I did to deserve it. That’s unacceptable.

But enough about that for now…

Playstation announced the free games for PS Plus subscribers in February:

  • Grid Autosport, PS3
  • Helldivers: Democracy Strikes Back , PS4, PS3, PS Vita
  • Lemmings Touch, PS Vita
  • Nom Nom Galaxy, PS4
  • Nova-111, PS Vita
  • Persona 4 Arena Ultimax, PS3

I’ve been wanting to try out Helldivers. Not sure if any of my friends still play it, though, and it seems like the kind of thing you need to play with friends.

The USPS tracking website now says that my Final Fantasy Explorers Collector’s Edition should be delivered today. I AM SO EXCITED. I’ll be making a separate post for that, though, and will likely unbox it while streaming on Twitch tonight.

Apparently, there’s going to be DLC maps for the new Fire Emblem game that’s coming out. I’m glad I don’t like Fire Emblem. My husband, on the other hand, will probably pick up every new map that comes out. Kinda like me and my Final Fantasy Theatrhythm songs…

Other nerdy things of note:

Apparently, there are 9000 obsolete cables attached to the CERN Hadron collider. In order to upgrade the machine, these need to be removed. It’s going to take 4 YEARS. Talk about a cable management NIGHTMARE.

Now, this doesn’t EXACTLY qualify as nerdy, but there are two movies that at one time or another I could quote word for word from start to finish. Both of them had Val Kilmer and they are Real Genius and Top Gun. I wanted to study lasers and be a fighter pilot because of these movies. While I still regret giving up studying STEM things, I think it’s probably a good thing that I never became a fighter pilot. I have a problem with authority. I don’t think the military and I would get along too well. (I don’t have perfect vision, anyway…) But there’s always talk about Top Gun 2. The latest involves a tweet from Jerry Bruckheimer meeting with Tom Cruise about it. Do I want this movie to happen? Honestly, I don’t know. If nothing else, I kinda want to watch Top Gun again. I haven’t watched it in a long time. I’ll skip the sex scene, though. To this day, I am STILL SICK OF THAT GOD DAMNED SONG. No song has ever been so overplayed! (I actually liked the song at the time and there’s a part of me that still does, but ugh…)

Tonight on Twitch:

My plan is to stream from about 9pm PST to midnight PST.

Final Fantasy XIV – I need to cap my red gathering scrips before 10pm my time since that’s when the crafting/gathering reset is. I think some FC members wanted to run Derp Ark, I mean Void Ark. I still need to upgrade a few pieces of Esoteric gear, so I still need the weekly reward from that.

After that, though… I might switch over to The Talos Principle. I want to finish that game so I can start playing The Witness without feeling guilty. 😀

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

