It’s Fat Tuesday!

So much celebration in February! Tonight I’ll be spending Mardi Gras in Chinatown. I’m really not sure what I was thinking when I said, “Sure! That sounds like a great idea!” when one of my friends invited us… My mother said, “Hey, you might have fun.” She’s probably right. I enjoy hanging out with my friends when good food and drink is involved. I really wish my gamer friends liked doing stuff like this, though. Every time I socialize with my non-gamer friends, I’m always worried that I won’t know what to talk about. It is not an exaggeration when I say that my life revolves around games. I work so I can play games. I plan my budget so I can pay off my student loans and play games. Everything is always all about games.

table_flip

Work has been stressing me out lately, so yesterday I was grumpy as fuck. You know, the kind of grumpy where it’s probably not a good idea to interact with other humans AT ALL. So I behaved like a 5-year-old, made snarky comments to my free company, and rage quit (the game, not the FC). I am a decent human being 95% of the time, so I reserve the right to behave badly once in a great while.

I decided to stream more of The Talos Principle on Twitch after eating dinner and washing it down with some nice red wine. I was focusing so hard on trying to solve the puzzles that I completely forgot to take screenshots. I started working in earnest on the puzzles in world C. I had unlocked a platform a couple of days ago, but I couldn’t figure out how to actually USE it. I know that I could put things, or even myself on it, but the HOW was totally eluding me. One of my viewers helped me out by nudging me in certain directions without actually telling me what to do so I FINALLY figured it out. That A-HA! moment always feels great! And I really appreciated the fact that he didn’t just TELL me what to do. That was awesome. 🙂

Today in Game/Nerd News:

The guy behind the Hannibal TV show is running the new Star Trek series that’s going to be airing starting in 2017. I am told that Pushing Daisies and Hannibal were excellent shows, so I can only be optimistic. I am a die hard Star Trek fan, though, so I’ll watch it no matter what. I’m slightly annoyed about paying $6/month of CBS All Access or whatever it’s called, but in the grand scheme of things, that’s not a big deal. I don’t pay for cable, after all… (I don’t watch television. AT ALL. Too many games to play and gaming takes up all my free time.) My husband will be happy. He can catch up on shows like Person of Interest. (Even I’m tempted to go back to watching that. Jim Caviezel is fucking HOT.)

Blizzard’s Overwatch beta is back starting today and there are apparently a lot of changes. I got a beta invite awhile ago, but never actually tried it. I’m definitely going to check it out. I’ve never played this type of game before, though, so we’ll see if Blizzard manages to do their magic to this genre, as well. The one thing that consistently amazes me about Blizzard is their ability to take ANY game genre and make it accessible to those people who generally have a difficult time with it. Their ability to take <insert game genre here> into the mainstream is great.

Amazon is rolling out a free game engine called Lumberyard. I wish I wanted to MAKE games, but I just want to play them. My dream job is to actually work in the accounting department of a video game studio. Seriously.

Sherlock Holmes: The Devil’s Daughter has a May 27th release date. I still haven’t played Crimes & Punishments. It’s on my Steam wishlist. I’ll get to it eventually.

Speaking of release dates, I try to maintain a release date calendar. It’s public so you can subscribe to it and add it to your own Google calendar. I rely on game news sites to keep it up to date, so there may be errors. I’m only human.

No Twitch stream tonight because I’ll be out for Mardi Gras! See you tomorrow!

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

