3 More Levels of Unravel!

I was on a roll last night! I actually got through three levels in about 2 hours. I think maybe I’m getting better at this game. When I first started, I was averaging one level in 3 hours. I’m getting better at recognizing and patterns and identifying solutions. Hooray for having a human brain! (Mmm… Neuroscience…)

I even remembered to take a few screenshots (plus my goofy ass face):

CbenBW4UcAAj7n_

This frozen, icy environment was gorgeous. The level itself involved a bunch of black crows that insisted on snatching Yarny up and carrying him away to parts unknown, though. It took me a LOT of attempts to get past them. I have to admit that as I played through those sections of the level, I felt like they were just a cheap way to make the level more difficult. In the cases where there’s nothing to hide behind, you have to time a little jump JUST RIGHT to throw the bird off. Too early or too late and it’s FUCK YOU! Again, though, the change in the music during the more stressful moments definitely added the right ambiance.

I forgot to take a screenshot in the level called, “How Much Is Enough,” but with regard to puzzle design, that was probably my favorite level so far. Yarny has to interact with machines and electricity in very cool ways. He also had to use light to send cockroaches scrambling. Ew. They really reminded me of the flying “B-52” roaches we have in Hawaii, but Unravel’s roaches don’t fly. THANK GOD. (These giant flying roaches are really a thing here. I’ve lived here pretty much all my life and they still send me screaming. LOL)

CbexYPVUEAEONzR

The last level I tackled was a snow level. I wanted to stay there forever. The snow was so pretty and how it would get stuck on Yarny’s body was SO CUTE. The only thing missing was that crunch. You know … That sound snow makes when you walk on it? I could walk in snow all damned day, listening to that crunch. I remember when I was in college in the Berkshires, I used to love the sound of the crunch as I walked while the snow fell silently around me. The silence of the falling snow was almost tangible. It was so beautiful and weird. Snow, or more specifically, 4 seasons, is another reason why I’m planning on moving to the mainland. I live in a paradise of eternal summer, which absolutely has its merits, but Autumn, Winter, and Spring are so beautiful, too. I hope you don’t take them for granted… Fun fact: Hawaii DOES have snow, by the way. I don’t live on that island. (Most people don’t. Of the 1.4 million people in this state, only about 185k live on that island.) And you’d have to go to the summit of an ACTIVE volcano.

Cbewni2UUAAecnw

Today in Game/Nerd News:

Sega is giving away three games on Steam if you’re willing to sign up for their newsletter, which I’m sure you can cancel later: Streets of Rage II, Binary Domain, and Condemned. I like free stuff.

Fushigi Yuugi has been added to Crunchyroll. This is one of my favorite anime series of all time. Probably because of my husband. When he and I first started dating, I told him I liked anime. (Keep in mind that this was during the time when anime fans would send blank VHS tapes to fansubbers and wait for them to SNAIL MAIL the tapes back to them!) He said, “Have you seen Fushigi Yuugi?” I hadn’t. So he gave me a tape with a few episodes on it and said, “Check this out. It’s my favorite. Call me when you need more.” Now if you’re familiar with this anime, you know that EVERY episode ends in a pretty crazy-ass cliffhanger. So I’d watch it and call him for the next tape. And of course, I kept calling him. What a sneaky guy! 😀 It totally worked. It’s too bad you can’t really do something like this anymore… Ah, romance. ❤

So, if you know me at all, you know that I HATE strategy games. RTS, Tactics, Turn-Based… All of it. But holy shit, I REALLY want to play the Master of Orion remake! They got awesome voice actors!

Tonight on Twitch:

I’ll be very likely getting a late start because I have a part time job after my day job today. This typically only happens once a month. I plan on playing more Unravel. I think I have 3 more levels before I finish the game… Come by and say hi! 🙂

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

