I Beat Unravel!

CbkNwj0UEAApLgY

To be clear, I didn’t 100% it. I don’t think I can. I really enjoyed this game. Even when I was stuck on the same puzzle for 30+ minutes, I was enjoying myself. There were certain mechanics that I felt were kind of cheap ways to increase the difficulty, but that could just be because I suck at these kinds of games.

CbkDottUsAEz7Tu

This screenshot is from a level called, “The Last Leaf.” It’s the penultimate level in the game. From and aesthetics and mood perspective, it was by far my favorite level in the game. It’s very linear and there are no secrets, but it seals the bond you feel for Yarny. (There were a couple of spots that had cheap difficulty increase mechanics, though, so I DID end up swearing a lot.)

Cbj2HIdUcAAu6Wn

Here’s a cool thing. When Yarny walks along the keyboard, it plays keys on the keyboard. They have no relation to the keys he’s ACTUALLY stepping on, but we won’t hold that against anyone. That would be too nitpicky. LOL

CbkNF_oUYAAEc3L

Once you beat the game, you can continue and go back for any secrets that you may have missed. (I missed a LOT of them.) The main room of the hub is now sunny and the flowers in the vase aren’t wilted anymore. Oh, and the photo is complete. Beating this game really gives you a nice warm fuzzy feeling. I love warm fuzzies.

CbkNlP9UcAEarIW

I loved this sentiment. This is the entry you get after completing the final level. More warm fuzzies.

Today in Game/Nerd News:

The renovations in the Nintendo store in New York City are complete. I can’t wait to take my husband there when we go on vacation in May. He’s never been to NYC. Look at all those Pokemon plushies! ❤

There’s a very nifty new trailer for ADR1FT, releasing next month on the Oculus Rift. I’m really excited about VR gaming although I’m worried about motion sickness.

Tonight on Twitch:

I’m sorry I didn’t make it online last night. It would have been cool to stream the ending of Unravel. But I got stuck at work and by the time I got home, it was so late that I just wanted to sit around in my pajamas and play uninterrupted.

I’m hoping to start at around 8 or 8:30 PM Hawaii time tonight. I’ve got stuff to do after work: wine tasting, picking Fire Emblem Fates for my husband, and dinner. So this start time is a best guess. As for WHAT I’ll be streaming… Right now I’m debating between Fallout 4 and Shadowrun: Hong Kong. I’m leaning toward the latter, but who knows… I might choose Bloodborne for no good reason. 😛

Come by and say hi!

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

