Finally Working on Bloodborne in Earnest

Cbzf5zTVIAAFgVL

I have tried to make headway on Bloodborne several times in the past. Everyone kept telling me, “Just get to the first boss. Then you’ll get insight and everything will be so much better!” Problem was that I just COULDN’T get to the fucking boss.

UNTIL LAST NIGHT.

It was my first time streaming Bloodborne on Twitch and I wasn’t sure what kinds of viewers I would attract. I wanted to stream something more fun to watch than what I’m currently playing on PC (Shadowrun: Hong Kong). Not that SRHK is a bad game or anything. It’s actually REALLY GOOD! It’s just not something you’d want to watch someone play. It’s a very text heavy game and the action is all turn-based. (I really wish there was a way to make it more fun to watch. It’s SO GOOD. And I’m not even a fan of tactical combat…)

Anyway, the problem with Bloodborne is that I’m REALLY bad at it. I know it’s supposed to be hard, but I couldn’t even get past the first level! When I’m really bad at a game, I’m always VERY hesitant to play it in public because I don’t like being insulted just because I’m not as skilled as others. I mean, seriously, who the fuck just walks up to someone performing an instrument or doing some other thing and just says, “Man, you suck.” It’s like booing at people. As far as I’m concerned, that’s disrespectful and just BAD FORM.

I got some really  helpful people in my Twitch channel and they helped me out. They explained how stuff works, told me where to go, and even tried to join my game, although I ended up with complete strangers instead. Apparently, during the first boss fight, I looked REALLY stressed, according to one viewer… LOL Yeah, I was chanting in my head, “Don’t die. Don’t die. Don’t die.” I got to the second boss and was able to spend Blood Echoes to level up a few times. One guy even got on Party Chat with me to help me out. He told me where I could find the nifty outfit I’m wearing at the top of this post. I love my top hat! I previously looked like this:

CbzMejmUcAA4-aW

I have to say that even though I’ve had a few inappropriate and obscene visitors to my channel, overall, I’m really enjoying meeting people on Twitch. It’s so great to be able to talk to other people who love games, too! I’m making friends and it’s awesome.

Tonight on Twitch:

More Bloodborne, but I may play offline in order to REALLY learn how combat and all that stuff works. When I’m running around frantically, following other players, I get really stressed out and have no idea what I’m doing. If I’m going to “git gud,” I need to really focus on learning the controls.

Gaming/Nerd Stuff I Care About:

The price for the HTC Vive VR was announced yesterday. It’s going to be $800, which is $200 more than the Oculus Rift. I’m hoping that Sony will announce their price for the Playstation VR soon. People are speculating about who’s going to “win” the VR race. Honestly, I’m beginning to think that NO ONE is going to win if the prices for these headsets remain so prohibitively high. As someone who figures out a way to budget for EVERY console and whatever game I want, I don’t personally have a problem with the high prices. HOWEVER, my dollars are not going to make or break VR. In order to really succeed, VR needs to be accessible to the general public, not just to video game and technology hobbyists. If Sony figures out a way to keep their hardware price lower than the other two, they certainly have a chance to dominate. The global install base for the PS4 is currently at around 25 million units. The Oculus Rift and Vive require a powerful gaming PC, but I don’t know if there’s a way to determine the install base for that. I know there are more gaming PC’s than PS4’s, but I don’t know how many are powerful enough to handle VR graphics. In any case, I’m excited for VR. Every time I talk to my son on the phone, he can’t stop talking about his VR class where he’s building levels in Unity, etc. He always says, “OMG Mom, I really wish you could try this! You would LOVE it!” (Parenting win!) I just hope VR doesn’t fizzle out because no one can afford it!

Related to VR, Valve has released a free tool to test your PC to see if it can handle VR. I’m on my lunch break at work right now, so I won’t be able to test my home computer until later tonight.

This is a great piece from Polygon about Golem, a title coming to Playstation VR. They make interesting points about optimization for the PS4 platform as well as addressing motion sickness.

Pre-order and Early Access go live for the remake of Master of Orion on February 26th. $50 gets you the new game, the originals, a soundtrack, early access, and a digital artbook. I’m definitely picking this up!

Mistwalker and Silicon Studio are working on a game together. This is a match made in heaven. In case you’re unfamiliar, Mistwalker is Hironobu Sakaguchi’s company. He’s the guy who created Final Fantasy and continued to work on the Final Fantasy series in some way through Final Fantasy XII. (By this time, however, he was just a producer and not very involved in actual development.) My favorite Mistwalker game is Lost Odyssey. Silicon Studio is the developer behind Bravely Default, which many people consider to be a spiritual successor to the Final Fantasy series. I loved Bravely Default and can’t wait for the sequel to be released in the US later this year. So putting these two teams together = WIN as far as I’m concerned.

IBM in Japan is working on a VRMMO based on the hit anime Sword Art Online. Based on what happened in the show, this seems dangerous.. Just kidding! This looks pretty cool! I really need to go back to studying Japanese. I barely ever use it or even hear it these days and my ability to play Japanese games is decreasing dramatically… 😦

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

