Figuring Out Twitch

ffxiv_02242016_175543.png

Since I rushed home from work, I was able to get about an hour and a half of Final Fantasy XIV in before the servers went down for maintenance. Three members of my Free Company and I unlocked The Lost City of Amdapor (Hard) and went in blind. I highly recommend going into any dungeon blind WITH FRIENDS or other people who are interested in figuring out mechanics on their own. DO NOT DO THIS if you’re using the Duty/Raid Finder, especially if the content is more than a few weeks old. (You could totally get away with it right now since the content is still brand-spanking new, though.) The four of us were chatting on Discord, figuring out stuff as we went along, calling out stuff we noticed, etc. It really adds an extra element of fun when you have to figure stuff out on your own. It also promotes teamwork and communication. You know, those real life skills that are useful in jobs and stuff. šŸ˜›

Light Party Dungeons are 4-man dungeons and have a time limit of 90 minutes. I think there were about 20 minutes left on the clock when we finished. Not bad! And we only wiped once on the very first boss. There were some hairy moments on the other bosses, but we were able to learn and adapt quickly enough to keep from dying. I was actually really worried about the last boss because historically, whenever we’ve had to learn a new dungeon, we usually wipe over and over on the last boss. We’ve actually FAILED dungeons multiple times because of this. Other times, we’ve won with literally just a few SECONDS to spare. We cheer really loudly when that happens… Haha! We have a lot of fun.

ffxiv_02242016_181349

I’m not entirely sure WHY, but I really like these floating octopus-looking enemies in that dungeon. They’re beautiful in a dark way to me. Yeah, I’m weird. I liked the sparkly butterflies, too. Hoping to attack The Antitower tonight! Calcabrena!

I didn’t Twitch my adventures last night. I wish I had, especially since we had such a fun time! But I’m trying to figure out a good plan. So far I’ve just been streaming whatever whenever. I’ve been TRYING to stick to a schedule, but I’ve been pretty shitty at it. I want to change that. I want my channel to be a fun place that people want to visit. It excites me when I meet new people who love games as much as or more than I do. So I want to figure out a plan and a schedule. Here’s a list of what I’m working with:

  1. I want to stream every day.
  2. I want to stream Final Fantasy XIV.
  3. I want to stream new games as I get them.
  4. I want to stream my backlog, provided it’s on a streamable platform.
  5. Speaking of platforms… My streaming options are currently only PC, PS4, and XBOX One.
  6. My husband is my #1 moderator.
  7. My husband is willing to help out with other stuff at home to let me do this.
  8. I have an awesome follower who bugs me when I don’t stream. (Arciela, PLEASE keep doing that!)
  9. Available stream times:Ā M-Th – 5:30 PM to 10:30 PM, Fri – 8 PM – 11 PM, Sat – 4 PM – 11 PM, Sun – 12:00 PM – 10 PM (HST)

Since Final Fantasy XIV is a MMORPG, regular play is a necessity. Not to mention, I just love playing that game. Since the majority of my FC (guild) is on the mainland, the earlier I play that game during the day the better. On some days, I’ll probably need to spend more time on FFXIV because of weekly cap goals. Other days, I’ll be able to just log on, do a few daily things, and then log off to play something else. Given all this, here’s my new proposed schedule:

(Note: This is a work in progress and I will continue to tweak it until I’m happy with it.)

  • Sunday – Free between Noon and 10 PM (with regular breaks) – dependent on Free Company plans
  • Monday – 5:30 PM – 7: 30 PM – FFXIV; 8:30 PM – 10: 30 PM – Other Games
  • Tuesday – 5:30 PM – 10:30 PM (with a dinner break in there) – FFXIV
  • Wednesday – 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM – FFXIV; 8:30 PM – 10:30 PM – Other Games
  • Thursday – 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM – FFXIV; 8:30 PM – 10:30 PM – Other Games
  • Friday – 8:00 PM – 11:00 PM – Whatever I’m in the Mood For
  • Saturday – 5:00 PM – 7:00 PM – FFXIV; 8:00 PM – 11:00 PM – FFXIV or Other Games (dependent on Free Company plans)

In case you’re wondering why I’m working so hard on this, the answer is simple. This is something I REALLY REALLY want to do. The only people I’ve ever seen who love games as much as I do are the people who stream on Twitch and make YouTube videos. Or people who work in the video game industry like game journalists and game developers. When I thought about which of those things sounded like the most fun, streaming definitely came out on top. Plus I haven’t seen a whole lot of women streamers in their 40’s, so I thought it might be nice to represent that demographic. Not all moms just play Disney’s Tsum Tsum and Neko Atsume on our cellphones, after all. šŸ˜‰ I do play those, too, though… CAN’T RESIST THE CUTE.

Anyway, I hope you join me. šŸ™‚

Today in Game/Nerd News:

Harebrained Schemes’ Necropolis got delayed until Summer. BUT! They’re working with Bandai Namco to also release on PS4 and XBOX One! Excellent! I’m still planning on picking it up for my PC since it’s got full controller support. It was designed with controller in mind, from what I was told. I love that this game will have multiplayer, too.

There are new Pokemon logos. I’m sure we’ll hear all about them in the Nintendo Direct that’s happening at 5 AM (HST) tomorrow morning. I’ll still be sleeping, thank you very much.

Tonight on Twitch:

According to my new and improved schedule, I SHOULD be playing FFXIV from 5:30 to 7:30 and then switching to Bloodborne after I eat dinner. HOWEVER, I’m going to start my new schedule on Sunday. Tonight, I’ll be logging onto FFXIV after dinner. Probably around 6:30 or 7. And that’s what I’ll be playing until I go to bed. There’s a lot of new content and I need to unlock it all. It’s going to take me a long time to actually DO it all, but I at least want to have it available.

Stop by and say hi!

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

