A Strategic Retreat

Sometimes you just have to realize that banging your head against a wall isn’t going to move that wall anywhere. Such is the case with my attempt to play Bloodborne. While I really enjoy playing that game, I am officially removing it from my Backlog of Shame. I still plan to play it once in awhile, but I no longer feel a compelling need to COMPLETE it. When I play action games, I like charging in with guns blazing. Games like Bloodborne or any of the Dark Souls require patience and while I am capable of playing that way, I can only do it for short periods of time before getting bored and/or annoyed. At the rate I’m going, I’ll never beat it, so I’m making a strategic retreat in order to allocate my time and energy to other games.

My gaming last night was kinda lame. It wasn’t BAD per se, but I didn’t get the feeling of satisfaction I normally do. Perhaps I should have just started with Kamen Rider and played that all night, since I was having so much fun with that one. I got on Final Fantasy XIV a bit later than I had planned because I had to stop at the grocery store and it was annoyingly crowded. I ran Expert and Level 60 roulette, but didn’t have an opportunity to try A8 Normal again because people weren’t on. Hopefully tonight before maintenance!

So I switched to Bloodborne and while I had fun, I just wasn’t feeling it. So I switched games again to Kamen Rider Battride War Genesis. I was having a blast with that one. I love mowing down enemies as the various Kamen Riders. I put the game on Easy (which is probably designed for small kids) and just button mashed. That was fun! I love the special abilities that the different Kamen Riders have. I love the silly things they say when they transform. For the first time all night, I was smiling and laughing while I played. That’s REALLY important to me. 🙂

Today in Game/Nerd News:

Patrick Harris from Minority Media did a talk at GDC about harassment in VR. When I read this post, I thought, “Oh god, I hadn’t even THOUGHT of this!” I am thankful that I haven’t experienced a lot of harassment online, but what little I HAVE experienced made me incredibly unsettled. We’re talking sweaty palms, pounding heart, and an incredible urge to quit Twitch. I was entirely unprepared for that even though I KNEW that it could very well happen. It prompted me to keep a list of witty comebacks for right before I block them in case it ever happens again, although I rarely have to use them. The idea that someone would be able to invade my personal VR space and make threatening or sexual gestures is terrifying! I’m glad that this guy is thinking about these things and how developers can create safe spaces in their games.

Board and card game developer Eric Lang is working on an official Bloodborne card game. I can only hope that this will be as fun and crazy as Dungeon Quest. (You can get game over on your first turn!)

I really can’t wait to play I Am Setsuna. The battle system sounds like a cross between Chrono Trigger and Legend of Heroes: Trails in the Sky. Yes, please.

Oculus released a list of the games that will be available for the Rift. After watching that video, I’m even more hyped. Sadly, I won’t be getting into Rift or Vive until probably next year because I’m taking a vacation on the other side of the country for my son’s graduation, but that’s okay. I figure it will be even better by the time I get into it! XD Other items of note regarding the Rift… The two games I’m most fascinated by so far are 3rd person games. This may be because I’m prone to motion sickness and I think I’m less likely to have trouble in 3rd person view. Insomniac Games is making something called Edge of Nowhere that’s based on a Lovecraft story. Going insane sounds pretty interesting. Chronos from Gunfire Games looks cool, too.

I am going to suck so bad at this game… I don’t care, though. It looks fun! XD

Tonight on Twitch:

I am hoping to clear A8 Normal before the servers go down at 8 PM HST. Then I’ll probably play more Kamen Rider Battride War Genesis. I want to unlock ALL the riders! Henshin! Come by and say hi!

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

