Final Fantasy XIV Fan Festival 2016!

festival

Assuming I can figure out how to afford airfare, my husband and I are going to this year’s FFXIV FanFest! I am so excited! 😀

The last time I went to Las Vegas was five years ago for a Star Trek convention. Being surrounded by other people who are into the same stuff as you is one of the best things ever. I imagine that this is going to be even better because I will be able to meet people that I actually interact with in person.

My very first MMO was the original EverQuest. I began playing sometime during the Kunark expansion in 2000. I had real life friends that I played with and we used to have LAN parties. In addition to playing online together, I’d lug my whole computer to someone’s house and we’d play together, still online, but in the same room. Then we’d usually go out for Zippy’s or some other food late at night. We’d sit around the table and talk about the adventures we just  had.

When I played World of Warcraft with a big group of real life friends, we’d play online and then meet up in person once in while to hang out, eat, drink, and talk about our adventures.

Far fewer of my real life friends play Final Fantasy XIV, so I don’t get to do this quite as much. I still go out and hang out with my husband and my really good friend, though, and we sit around a table, eat, drink, and talk about our adventures.

Do you see a theme here?

I don’t know if it’s because I’m older, but there’s something really awesome about being able to hang out with the people you play with online in real life. I’ve made quite a few friends on Cactuar and I’m always so disappointed that I can’t just go out for a drink or something with them after a few hours of fighting monsters. I’m not sure if any of my online friends are going, but I’m looking forward to meeting more people from my server, anyway. More people to adventure with! Even meeting people who AREN’T on my server will be awesome because we’ll all have a shared world with experiences that we can share without someone looking at us like we’re speaking some obscure foreign language. Seriously, I CAN’T WAIT!

In other news, it seems that Square Enix has decided that Wednesday nights are a good night for maintenance when they decide to have it, so I’m going to switch my Twitch schedule to play whatever my backlog game is on Wednesday nights instead of Monday nights.

I didn’t stream last night because I fell down and bashed my knees and hands on concrete yesterday, so I just vegged out on the couch with ice packs last night before going to bed early. I felt like such an old lady! Oh well, I’m a bit stiff and sore today, but I’ll definitely be streaming. I need my weekly Wiping City of Salt clear… 😛

Stop by and say hi!

  • h4tsum1
Leave a Reply

